top of page

RIDEING TECHNIQUE LEVEL - SELF ASSESSMENT

Find the level that suits you.

You assign yourself to your personal level based on the various explanations of levels 1-5. You can then assess which tours are tailored to you and which you can enjoy.

Image by Miles Loewen

LEVEL 1: BEGINNER

Mountain bike beginners with little prior knowledge of riding technique or little single trail experience. However, you can ride a normal street bike without any problems. You can navigate long curves and forest paths fluently, as well as brake safely. You enjoy nature, love the trails, but don't really dare to ride yet.

  • Reference to Singletrack scale S0

  • Surface: forest paths, firm, wide trail, slight gradient, wide curves

  • Physical requirements: up to 500 meters altitude per day. Uphill speed approx. 6 km/h, climb 250 m per hour.

Level 2.jp2

LEVEL 2: ADVANCED BIKERS

with more than 2 years of bike experience and confident control of the bike on single trails, balance, braking skills and basic position on trails. Riding wide bends and some rocky or rooty trails with slight gradients is fun and largely successful.

  • Reference to Singletrack scale S1

  • Surface: solid trails, mobile serpentines, small water channels, stone and root ledges up to approx. 30 cm high, gradient approx. 30%

  • Physical requirements: up to 800 meters altitude per day. Uphill speed approx. 8 km/h, climb 300 m per hour.

Image by Tim Foster

LEVEL 3: VERY ADVANCED BIKERS

Confident bikers with more than 5 years of trail experience and fun on bumpy descents over hill and dale. Serpentines are almost always successful unless you have to move the rear wheel. You want to achieve even more safety and perfection when driving on demanding lines.

  • Reference to Singletrail scale S2 / S3

  • Surface: narrow trails, mostly unpaved, larger roots and stones, flat ledges and stairs, gradient 50-60%, hairpin bends

  • Physical requirements: up to 1300 meters altitude per day. Uphill speed approx. 9 km/h, climb 350-400 m per hour.

Image by Graziano De Maio

LEVEL 4: THE BIKE EXPERT

Spends “half his life” on single trails, enjoys traveling in the Alps and is looking for grip on all steep slopes. Rear wheel shifting, off-road jumps, steep descents and the occasional stretch are the icing on the cake. The skills: excellent balance, delicate braking maneuvers, confident eye control and good nerves should be practiced and available.

  • Reference to Singletrack scale S3 / S4

  • Surface: blocked single trails with many larger boulders and/or root passages, high steps, hairpin bends and tricky diagonal rides often occur, relaxed rolling sections are rare. Slippery surfaces and loose scree are often to be expected; steepnesses of over 70% or 35° are not uncommon.

  • Physical requirements: up to 1,500 meters in altitude per day, occasional stretches uphill. Climb 400-450 HM per hour.

HOW CHALLENGING CAN IT BE?

What can I expect on the tour?

The difficulty of a trail is rated using the single trail scale. With the definition of the individual categories, you can find out in the tour description what to expect.

The single trail scale (STS) is divided into three difficulty classes: easy (S0 & S1), medium (S2) and difficult (S3, S4 & S5). These difficulty classes are based on the riding ability of an average biker with a technically up-to-date mountain bike.

For the specific classification and more precise differentiation of the trails (and difficulty classes), six relatively well-defined difficulty levels (S grades) from S0 to S5 are used.


For an average biker, the lower end of the scale (S0) is equivalent to "easily rideable" and the upper end (S5) is equivalent to "unrideable".

 

S0 VERY EASY

S0 describes a path that does not present any particular difficulties. These are mostly flowing forest and meadow paths on non-slip natural soil or compacted gravel. No steps, rocks or root passages are to be expected. The slope of the path is gentle to moderate, the curves are wide.

Image by Kenny Sexton

S1 EASY

On a path marked S1, you should expect smaller obstacles such as shallow roots and small stones. Very often isolated gullies and erosion damage are the reason for the increased level of difficulty, and the ground may also not be solidified in some cases. The gradient is a maximum of 40% or 22°. No hairpin bends are to be expected.
From S1 onwards, basic driving knowledge and constant attention are required. More demanding passages require measured braking and body shifting. You should always drive while standing. Obstacles can be overcome.

Image by Backroad Packers

S2 INTERMEDIATE

In difficulty level 2 you have to expect larger roots and stones. The soil is often not consolidated. Steps and shallow stairs are to be expected. There are often tight curves, with the steepness being up to 70% or 35° in places.
The obstacles must be overcome by shifting your weight. Constant readiness to brake and shifting the body's center of gravity are necessary techniques, as are precise dosage of the brakes and constant body tension.

Image by Ashim D’Silva

S3
DIFFICULT

Blocked single trails with many larger boulders and/or root passages belong to category S3. High steps, hairpin bends and tricky diagonal journeys often occur, while relaxed rolling sections are rare. Slippery surfaces and loose scree are often to be expected; steepnesses of over 70% or 35° are not uncommon.
Passages that have the 3rd level of difficulty do not require trial techniques, but very good bike control and constant concentration are a prerequisite for mastering S3. Precise braking and very good balance are necessary.

Image by Yaroslav Maltsev

S4 DIFFICULT

S4 describes very steep and heavily blocked single trails with large boulders and/or challenging root passages, often with loose scree in between. Extremely steep ramps, tight hairpin bends and steps where the chainring inevitably bottoms out are common in 4th grade.
In order to ride in the 4th level of difficulty, trial techniques such as moving the front and rear wheels (e.g. in the hairpin bends) are absolutely necessary, as are perfect braking technique and balance. Only extreme riders and exceptional bikers can tackle S4; even carrying them down these passages is often not without danger.

Image by Anuj Yadav

S5
DIFFICULT

The difficulty level S5 is characterized by blocky terrain with counter climbs, scree fields and landslides, eyelet-like hairpin bends, several high, consecutive ledges and obstacles such as fallen trees - all often extremely steep. There is little, if any, coasting or braking distance. Obstacles must e.g. T. can be managed in combination.
Only a handful of freaks try to master passages with difficulty level 5. Some obstacles have to be jumped over. Moving around hairpin bends is hardly possible. Even carrying the bike becomes almost impossible here, as you have to hold on or even climb while walking.

Image by Cesar Cid
bottom of page

FAHRTECHNIKLEVEL - SELBSTEINSCHÄTZUNG

Finde das Level, welches zu dir passt.

Du ordnest dich anhand der verschiedenen Erklärungen der Levels 1-5 zu deinem persönlichen Level zu. Danach kannst du einschätzen, welche Touren für dich zugeschnitten sind und geniessen kannst.

Image by Miles Loewen

LEVEL 1: EINSTEIGER

Mountainbike-Anfänger mit geringen Vorkenntnissen in Fahrtechnik oder wenig Singletrail-Erfahrung. Du fährst jedoch ohne Probleme ganz normales Strassenfahrrad. Das Befahren weiter Kurven und Waldwegen beherrschst du flüssig, ebenso das sichere Bremsen. Du hast Spaß an der Natur, liebäugelst mit den Trails, traust dich aber noch nicht wirklich zu fahren.

  • Referenz zu Singletrail-Skala S0

  • Untergrund: Waldwege, fester, breiter Trail, leichtes Gefälle, weite Kurven

  • Konditionelle Anforderung: bis zu 500 Höhenmeter pro Tag. Tempo bergauf ca. 6 km/h, Anstieg 250 HM pro Stunde.

Level 2.jp2

LEVEL 2: FORTGESCHRITTENE BIKER

mit mehr als 2 Jahren Bike-Erfahrungen und sicherer Beherrschung des Bikes in Singletrails, Balance, Bremskönnen und Grundposition in Trails fest eingeübt. Das Fahren von weiten Kehren, einiger steiniger oder wurzeliger Trails mit leichtem Gefälle macht dir Spass und gelingt weitestgehend.

  • Referenz zu Singletrail-Skala S1

  • Untergrund: feste Trails, fahrbare Serpentinen, kleine Wasserrinnen, Stein- und Wurzelabsätze bis ca. 30 cm Höhe, Gefälle ca. 30%

  • Konditionelle Anforderung: bis zu 800 Höhenmeter pro Tag. Tempo bergauf ca. 8 km/h, Anstieg 300 HM pro Stunde.

Image by Tim Foster

LEVEL 3: SEHR FORTGESCHRITTENE BIKER

Sichere Biker mit mehr als 5 Jahren Trailerfahrung und Spaß an rumpeligen Abfahrten über Stock und Stein. Serpentinen gelingen fast immer, es sei denn man müsste das Hinterrad versetzen. Du möchtest noch mehr Sicherheit und Perfektion beim Befahren anspruchsvoller Linien erreichen.

  • Referenz zu Singletrail-Skala S2 / S3

  • Untergrund: schmale Trails, meist nicht verfestigt, größere Wurzeln und Steine, flache Absätze und Treppen, Gefälle 50-60%, Spitzkehren

  • Konditionelle Anforderung: bis zu 1300 Höhenmeter pro Tag. Tempo bergauf ca. 9 km/h, Anstieg 350-400 HM pro Stunde.

Image by Graziano De Maio

LEVEL 4: DER BIKEEXPERTE

Verbringt sein "halbes Leben" auf Singletrails, ist gerne in den Alpen unterwegs und fahrtechnisch auf der Suche nach Gripp in allen Steillagen. Hinterrad-Versetzen, Geländesprünge, Steilabfahrten und die eine oder andere Tragepassage sind das Salz in der Suppe. Die Fähigkeiten: excelente Balance, feinstfühlige Bremsmanöver, souveräne Blickführung und gute Nerven sollten einstudiert und abrufbar sein.

  • Referenz zu Singletrail-Skala S3 / S4

  • Untergrund: verblockte Singletrails mit vielen größeren Felsbrocken und/ oder Wurzelpassagen, hohe Stufen, Spitzkehren und kniffelige Schrägfahrten kommen oft vor, entspannte Rollabschnitte werden selten. Häufig ist auch mit rutschigem Untergrund und losem Geröll zu rechnen, Steilheiten über 70% bzw. 35° sind keine Seltenheit.

  • Konditionelle Anforderung: bis zu 1500 Höhenmeter pro Tag, gelegentliche Tragepassagen bergauf. Anstieg 400-450 HM pro Stunde.

 

WIE ANSPRUCHSVOLL DARF ES SEIN?

Was erwartet mich auf der Tour?

Die Schwierigkeit eines Trails wird durch die Singletrailskala bewertet. Mit der Definition der einzelnen Kategorien kannst du im Tourenbeschrieb herauslesen, was auf dich zukommt.

Die Singletrail-Skala (STS) unterteilt sich in die drei Schwierigkeitsklassen Leicht (S0 & S1), Mittel (S2) und Schwer ( S3, S4 & S5). Diese Schwierigkeitsklassen orientieren sich dabei an dem Fahrkönnen eines durchschnittlichen Bikers mit einem technisch aktuellen Mountainbike.

Zur konkreten Klassifizierung und genaueren Differenzierung der Trails (und Schwierigkeitsklassen) werden sechs relativ gut voneinander abgrenzbare Schwierigkeitsgrade (S-Grade) von S0 bis S5 herangezogen.


Dabei ist für einen durchschnittlichen Biker das untere Skalenende (S0) mit "locker fahrbar" und das obere (S5) mit "unfahrbar" gleichzusetzen. 

 

S0
LEICHT

S0 beschreibt einen Weg, welcher keine besonderen Schwierigkeiten aufweist. Dies sind meistens flüssige Wald- und Wiesenwege auf griffigen Naturböden oder verfestigter Schotter. Stufen, Felsen oder Wurzelpassagen sind nicht zu erwarten. Das Gefälle des Weges ist leicht bis mäßig, die Kurven sind weitläufig.

Image by Kenny Sexton

S1
LEICHT

Auf einem mit S1 beschriebenen Weg muss man bereits kleinere Hindernisse wie flache Wurzeln und kleine Steine erwarten. Sehr häufig sind vereinzelte Wasserrinnen und Erosionsschäden Grund für den erhöhten Schwierigkeitsgrad, der Untergrund kann teilweise auch nicht verfestigt sein. Das Gefälle beträgt maximal 40% bzw. 22°. Spitzkehren sind nicht zu erwarten.
Ab S1 werden fahrtechnische Grundkenntnisse und ständige Aufmerksamkeit benötigt. Anspruchsvollere Passagen erfordern dosiertes Bremsen und Körperverlagerung. Es sollte grundsätzlich im Stehen gefahren werden. Hindernisse können überrollt werden.

Image by Backroad Packers

S2
MITTEL

Im Schwierigkeitsgrad 2 muss man mit größeren Wurzeln und Steinen rechnen. Der Boden ist häufig nicht verfestigt. Stufen und flache Treppen sind zu erwarten. Oftmals kommen enge Kurven vor, die Steilheit beträgt passagenweise bis zu 70% bzw. 35°.
Die Hindernisse müssen durch Gewichtsverlagerung überwunden werden. Ständige Bremsbereitschaft und das Verlagern des Körperschwerpunktes sind notwendige Techniken, ebenso genaues dosieren der Bremsen und ständige Körperspannung.

Image by Ashim D’Silva

S3
SCHWER

Verblockte Singletrails mit vielen größeren Felsbrocken und/ oder Wurzelpassagen gehören zur Kategorie S3. Hohe Stufen, Spitzkehren und kniffelige Schrägfahrten kommen oft vor, entspannte Rollabschnitte werden selten. Häufig ist auch mit rutschigem Untergrund und losem Geröll zu rechnen, Steilheiten über 70% bzw. 35° sind keine Seltenheit.
Passagen, die den 3. Schwierigkeitsgrad aufweisen, erfordern zwar noch keine Trial-Techniken, sehr gute Bike-Beherrschung und ständige Konzentration sind aber Voraussetzung zum Bewältigen von S3. Exaktes Bremsen und sehr gute Balance sind notwendig.

Image by Yaroslav Maltsev

S4
SCHWER

S4 beschreibt sehr steile und stark verblockte Singletrails mit großen Felsbrocken und/ oder anspruchsvollen Wurzelpassagen, dazwischen häufig loses Geröll. Extreme Steilrampen, enge Spitzkehren und Stufen, bei denen das Kettenblatt unweigerlich aufsetzt kommen im 4. Grad häufig vor.
Um im 4. Schwierigkeitsgrad zu fahren sind Trial-Techniken wie das Versetzen des Vorder- und Hinterrades (z. B. in den Spitzkehren) absolut notwendig, genauso wie perfekte Bremstechnik und Balance. Nur Extremfahrer und Ausnahmebiker können S4 bewältigen, selbst das Hinabtragen dieser Passagen ist häufig nicht ungefährlich.

Image by Anuj Yadav

S5
SCHWER

Der Schwierigkeitsgrad S5 wird charakterisiert durch blockartiges Gelände mit Gegenanstiegen, Geröllfeldern und Erdrutschen, ösenartigen Spitzkehren, mehreren hohen, direkt aufeinanderfolgenden Absätzen und Hindernissen wie umgefallenen Bäumen - alles oft in extremer Steilheit. Wenn überhaupt ist wenig Auslauf bzw. Bremsweg vorhanden. Hindernisse müssen z. T. in Kombination bewältigt werden.
Nur eine Hand voll Freaks versucht Passagen im 5. Schwierigkeitsgrad zu bewältigen. Hindernisse müssen teilweise übersprungen werden. In Spitzkehren ist das Versetzen kaum noch möglich. Selbst das Tragen des Bikes wird hier fast unmöglich, da man sich beim Gehen festhalten oder gar klettern muss.

Image by Cesar Cid